About the Court

Courts of appeals in Ohio are established by Article IV, Section 1, of the Ohio Constitution. As intermediate level appellate courts, their function is to hear appeals from the common pleas, municipal and county courts in each county in their respective districts. The Second District Court of Appeals is one of 12 appellate districts in Ohio and encompasses Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Miami, and Montgomery Counties. The court’s main location is in Dayton. There are five judges on the Second District and each appeal is decided by a three-judge panel. The judges are elected to six-year terms.

For more information: